840879_woman_praying2I said my first prayer for Barack Obama.

After reading another blogger’s exhortation from Romans 13:1-7, I prayed.  It was a simple prayer for wisdom and blessings.  Obama’s wife and children came to mind, as well.  They have a tough four years ahead of them and will need our prayers.

Despite the fact that Obama’s beliefs are much different than mine, Scripture says ‘the authorities that exist are appointed by God.’  (v. 1).  Paul continues in verse 2 ‘…whoever resists the authority resisits the ordinance of God, and…will bring judgment on themselves.’ 

Now, I am not sure how one might ‘resist’ Obama’s authority.  I will say outright that I do not like the fact that he is our President and will most likely disagree with many of his decisions.  However, Paul tells us in 1 Timothy 2:1-2,

‘…I exhort first of all that supplications, prayer, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence.  For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.’

So…pray with me for our President.