Should I celebrate Christmas?

These thoughts began a few years ago and have only become more intense this year because of a few other serious blog posts.  I have no desire to decorate because that involves not only my time, but sometimes lots of money.  Gift giving is almost a required aspect, so I haven’t even approached the subject knowing it will be painful.  At this point, I am simply trying to honor the Lord with how to spend my time during this ‘season’.

Sick mother

Fifty years of smoking has led to serious health issues for my mother.  After spending the better portion of the last decade nursing her failing husband, her health care was put on hold until now.  Complications after another stent was put into her leg caused some worry, but she’s on the mend now and looking at getting her other leg cleared soon.

Patriocentric theology

I have been a closet supporter of the patriarchy movement for quite a while.  I have desired my husband to be the spiritual head of our home, wanted to be a stay-at-home, homeschool mother, and hoped to keep my daughter and son home until they marry, are all thoughts that drove my way of thinking and influenced most of my decisions.  …until recently.

Karen Campbell has a series of podcasts that I have been listening to.  Boy!  She has opened my eyes to some of the problems in this movement.  Now, to be sure, I have known about some of the issues associated with some of these groups.  For example, I am aware that many in this group are Dominionists.  And recently, in Vision Forum’s new catalog they have started selling Rushdonney’s books.  But now I am questioning the actual biblical support for some of their teachings.

Talk about rocking your world!!

A new church

It has been six years since we left our last church.  Since then we have mostly had what we call ‘home church’ which consisted of Bible Study, prayer and singing of hymns.  Initially, there were two other families that we met with, but they both felt the need to join others churches.

A few weeks ago, my husband decided that it was time to try church again, so we have begun attending a small, local congregation were we know many of the families and the pastor.  It is a Presbyterian Church of America (PCA) church which is different than the United Methodist, American Baptist and Southern Baptist churches that we have been part of in the past.  I am quite familiar with the official teachings of the PCA church and have a number of differences in my personal theology, but right now it is wonderful to be back with a group of believers in corporate worship.

So…

I am remembering these words of comfort from my Savior,

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”   Matt. 11:28-30

<><   <><   <><   <><   <><   <><   <><   <><   <><

UPDATE:

Since writing this post I have come across two other blogs concerning patriocentric teaching, specifically Michael and Debi Pearl’s methodology.  Here are the links:

http://whynottrainachild.com/

http://scitascienda.com/bored-yet-top-30-articles/parenting-in-the-name-of-god-index/

I am in the process of reading these sites in hopes of a deeper understanding of the problems of this movement.

 

 




