Years and years ago, we bought our first bread-making machine.  We had fun trying different recipes and experimenting with ingredients.  Our friends also had one and we shared all that we had learned.  Pizza dough, cinnamon rolls, beer bread…what memories!

Last year we had to replace our old, worn-out DAK.  After a bit of research, we purchased a spiffy, new Zojiroshi. 

We also invested in a mill and wheat berries in an attempt to make healthier bread because our little man was struggling with some digestive issues.   😦 

All that being said, I have struggled to find the same types of recipes that we enjoyed with our old DAK.  My ryes are like bricks; my banana bread failed miserably and I threw away lots of failed experiments to get a basic wheat right.  Ugh!

However, I have discovered a new trick!  Our old recipe book 
has recipes that can be doubled with success!   And one of my family’s new favorites is for garlic cheese rolls.  Yums!

Using the dough setting, I can make two, lovely pie plates of pull-apart rolls; one to serve and one to freeze for later. 

Here’s the recipe:

1.5 cups water
4 cups flour (I used fresh-milled white wheat.)
2 teaspoons salt
2 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons sugar (I used Sucanat.)
2 Tablespoons nonfat dry milk
1 heaping teaspoon gluten
1 Tablespoon yeast
1/2 cup melted butter
2 garlic cloves, crushed
freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Place first 7 ingredients in bread pan, select basic dough setting, and press Start.

When dough cycle is complete, remove bread from pan, and turn onto a floured surface.  Cut dough into two equal portions.  Working with one portion at a time, roll and stretch dough into a 24-inch rope.  With dough cutter or sharp knife, cut rope into 16 equal pieces.  Shape into balls; place in a greased pie pan.  Follow the same procedure for the second half of dough.

In a small bowl, combine melted butter and garlic.  Pour evenly over two pans of rolls.  Sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. 

Cover and let rise in warm oven for 30-45 minutes or until doubled in size.  (HINT:  I turn on my oven to the lowest setting and let it warm for two minutes, then turn it off before placing dough in oven to rise.) 

Remove pans from the oven and preheat to 375 degrees.  Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden. 

  

I made 24 little rolls instead of 16, but I think I’ll do 16 next time.

Enjoy!

 

