While working through Ezekiel, using J. Vernon McGee’s commentary, I came across an interesting phrase that McGee used to describe ‘religious’ people.  He identified people who are in churches, but are not necessarily saved as ones who have

 ‘the band-aid of religion over the sore of sin.’ 

Now that phrase struck me, because I used to be one of them.  I was raised in the church; became a member after going through ‘confirmation’ class; sang in the choir; served on boards, etc; but I was NOT saved.  I was wearing the band-aid. 

I certainly thought I was a Christian.  Everyone in my church treated me as if I were a Christian.  If it were not for a loving friend pointing me towards Christ, taking me by the hand to lead me to the Living Water, and helping me to see the festering ‘sore of sin’ in my life, I’d still be lost. 

How many people out there are wearing the band-aid of religion? 

“Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick…” 
Matthew 9:12

 

