42-17249832

VERSE OF THE DAY:  Matthew 16:18

(Jesus said) . . . you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build My church . . .

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY:

The church foundation is Jesus, not Peter.

MINI BIBLE STUDY FOR THE DAY:

Many in the Catholic church have been taught that this verse means Christ appointed Peter as the first Pope, and all subsequent Popes followed Peter’s charge. But a close look supports another translation.In the Greek, the word Peter is “Petros,” a person, masculine. But the word “rock,” “petra,” is feminine and doesn’t refer to a person but rather to Peter’s declaration one verse earlier that Jesus was the “Christ.” Jesus was saying that the truth Peter had confessed was the foundation upon which Christ would build His church.

Jesus simply made two different statements. “you are Peter’ and, “Upon this rock (change of gender, indicating a change of subject) I will build My church.” To accept the Catholic Church’s translation, you would have to translate this to basically say, “And I say to you, that you are Mr. Rock, and upon this, the Miss Rock, I will build My church. Clearly it was upon the deity of Christ, and not sinful Peter, that the church would be founded.

I Cor. 3:11 ~”For no man can lay a foundation other than the one which is laid, which is Jesus Christ.“~

*****************************

FROM:  Good Morning, Lord! 
                Compass International  www.compass.org

