church_retreat_batam_07_032When I was a child I used to watch the clouds and try to see if their shapes resembled anything real like a horse or a dog.  My children do the same thing.  On a recent car ride, my son noticed a fluffy cloud and exclaimed that it looked like a dinosaur.  I suspect most people have had similar experiences. 

Clouds are in Scripture, too.  Yesterday, during my Bible study of Daniel, I read in chapter 7 about one of Daniel’s visions.

“I was watching in the night visions,
And behold, One like the Son of Man,
Coming with the clouds
of heaven!…”
                                                                                                     (Daniel 7:13)

The study that I am using (Dr. John Walvoord’s) mentions that The expression that He is attended by “clouds of heaven,” implies deity,”   and references 1 Thessalonians 4:17.  I am familiar with that particular Scripture as being where Paul speaks of the rapture, so I flipped over the it. 

“Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air.  And thus we shall always be with the Lord.” 
(1 Thessalonians 4:17)

Fascinating!  I had never made that connection before! 

Later that same morning during our family devotions, the children and I were studying in the book of Numbers where we found another reference to a cloud!  

tabernaclesunset2

“Now on the day that the tabernacle was raised up, the cloud covered the tabernacle, the tent of the Testimony; from evening until morning it was above the tabernacle like the appearance of fire.
So it was always: the cloud covered it by day, and the appearance of fire by night.” 

(Numbers 9:15-16)

Cool beans!  At this point I was beginning to get the picture! 

So we did a little more searching.  My reference for the word ‘cloud’ in this passage was for Exodus 40:34.

“Then the cloud covered the tabernacle of meeting, and the glory of the LORD filled the tabernacle.” 
(Exodus 40:34)

The subtitle for this portion in my Bible is, ‘Shekinah glory fills tabernacle.’   Now I have heard the word ‘shekinah’ before and knew that this was a Hebrew word meaning the radiance of God’s presence; His glory that would shine when He filled the tabernacle or temple.  What I did not know was that it also represented the deity of Christ. 

Continuing in Scripture, the children and I jumped over to Acts chapter 1 where Jesus ascends into heaven.

“Now when He had spoken these things, while they watched, He was taken up, and a cloud received Him out of their sight.  And while they looked steadfastly toward heaven as He went up, behold, two men stood by them in white apparel, who also said, “Men of Galilee, why do you stand gazing up into heaven?  This same Jesus, who was taken up from you into heaven, will so come in like manner as you saw Him go into heaven.”
(Acts 1:9-11)

And then we went to Revelation:

“Behold, He is coming with clouds, and every eye will see Him, even they who pierced Him…
(Revelations 1:7)

Clouds, in Scripture, point to God’s shekinah glory; Christ’s deity is represented in them, too. 

I will never look at clouds the same way again

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” 
(1 Corinthians 13:11)

*******************************************************************************************************************************

