simple-woman-daybook-large2

Hosted by Peggy @ http://thesimplewoman.blogspot.com/
*************************************************************************************************

For today…February 17th, 2009

Outside my window…a brightening morning sky.

I am hearing…the blessed silence of early morning. 

I am thankful for…my brothers who have sacrificed their time to care for our ageing parents.

I am remembering…my son sharing his wonderful experiences from blacksmith training with his dad; his glowing face as he showed me his iron hook that he made.  Girls’ day out with my daughter.  Basketball games & practices.  Shopping for a new mattress with my husband.  The smell of smoky children after a day of living history in the colonial kitchen and blacksmith’s shop.

Around the house…clutter from a busy weekend.  The house was mostly used for landing and taking off. 

From the kitchen…venison pepper steak with basmati rice, French bread from the bread machine and something yummy for dessert.  Haven’t figured out dessert yet, though.  Maybe my daughter will make something; she loves to bake!

From the learning rooms…Algebra 2 test, study of our country’s foundational documents, Pet Peeve speech, finish the Magician’s Nephew, last module of Apologia Physical Science.

I am readingSelf-Raised by E.D.E.N. Southworth.  This story of a godly man named, Ishmael Worth, is a 19th century re-print from Lamplighter Publishing. 

I am creating…our summer garden.  Hubby has drawn up plans and began clearing the plot (he calls it ‘tractor therapy’).  We priced fencing and purchased hosing for irrigation lines.   Seeds have been planted in starting trays. 

One of my favorite things…growing my own food! 

Scripture on which to meditateBlessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort.  2 Corinthians 1:3

A picture to share…my colonial kids.

 

colonial-meagan-connor

 

*************************************************************************************************************************

