I was raised by two avid readers.  My parents passed along their love of reading at an early age by reading to me and encouraging me to read.  I have fond memories of trips to the library where my mother would guide me toward authors such as Pearl S. Buck, Charlotte Bronte and Mark Twain. 

untitled-21I, however, rebelled at reading those classics and moved into a more sordid genre…romance novels.  Fueled by soap operas, my appetite for romance novels  grew with each devoured installment.   It was quite an obsession for a while.

This type of book was present in my life until my sister-in-law shared her growing conviction against reading a certain series that she and I both had enjoyed.  I was a ‘baby’ Christian at the time, but ‘heard’ her heart and pondered her remarks for a long time.

Eventually, the LORD convicted me, as well.  He made me realize that what these novels taught about relationships between men and women was limited to their passions.  What these novels taught was that marriage was about lust.  What these novels taught  was….A LIE!

The god of this world would have Christian women believe the lie of romance.  He is subtle in his methods.   He would even have us believe that ‘Christian’ romance novels are acceptable just because they are sold in ‘Christian’  bookstores.  This is just another lie because “…the lust of the eyes…is not of the Father but is of the world.”  (1John2:16)

Jesus made it pretty clear when he commanded, “If your right eye causes you to sin, pluck it out and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell.”   (Matthew 5:29)

Remember, “whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.”  (Philippians 4:8) 

“Marriage is honorable among all, and the bed undefiled; but fornicators and adulterers God will judge.” 
Hebrews 13:4

************************************

Have you believed the lie?

 

************************************************************************************************

