070266_goldHaving quiet, early morning devotions is a blessing that have on most days.  Today, as I curled up with my hot cup of coffee next to the warm fire and my sleeping puppy, I received a golden nugget.  It was not such a huge nugget, necessarily, probably to many not even worthy to be called golden.  But to me it brought realization of true, eternal value!

Reading the Gospel of Mark, chapter 11, I found a familiar passage of the triumphal entry of Jesus into Jerusalem.  I even thought to myself, “I know this story.  I am familiar with the details.”  The Holy Spirit, however, had other plans for me this morning. 

I turned the page to read the shouts of ‘Hosanna! Blessed is He who comes in the name of the LORD!  Blessed is the kingdom of our father David that comes in the name of the Lord!  Hosanna in the highest!”

The next sentence gave me pause: “And Jesus went into Jerusalem and into the temple.”

There is was.  I had never noticed that phrase before!  “….into the temple.”   Such a short little prepositional phrase.  Not much meaning, really.  But for some reason these three words stood out to me this time. 

There was a chain reference link to the Old Testament book of Malachi 3:1.  “…and the Lord, whom you seek, will suddenly come to His temple, even the Messenger of the covenant, in whom you delight.  Behold, He is coming, says the LORD of hosts.” 

Awesome!  Fulfilled prophecy!  Glorious!

The Holy Spirit led me to a golden nugget of Truth in His Holy Word! 

Malachi had prophesied the smallest detail of Jesus’ entry into Jerusalem.  A powerful piece of evidence of the accuracy of Scripture.  Proof positvie of another reason for my faith! 

Thank you, Lord Jesus! 

*****************************************************************************************************************

